# AIA|LA DESIGN AWARDS OCTOBER 30- 2024

# CEREMONY

RLA Church: 4409 W. Adams Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90016

# RECEPTION

AIA|LA Center for Communities: 4450 W. Adams Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90016

# NEXTLA AWARDS

# PRESENTERS

Lisa Little, AIA Rachel Allen, AIA, FAAR

### JURY

Lisa Little, AIA Rachel Allen, AIA, FAAR Dennis McFadden, FAIA

### AWARD RECIPIENTS

# ADAPTIVE REUSE/ RENOVATION/HISTORIC PRESERVATION

A Noise Within Theater Expansion and Renovation *Practice* 

The New College of Florida Brooks + Scarpa

Watts Community Hub

DSH // architecture

# AFFORDABLE HOUSING

Terrazas del Sol Commerce Affordable Housing Community *Practice* 

The Boulevard
Montebello Affordable Housing
Community Revitalization

Practice

# ARCHITECTURAL INSTALLATIONS

The Great Library smith-clementi

# CITYSCAPES

Watts 1000

Patrick TIGHE Architecture

COMMERCIAL/MIXED-USE
4th & Hewitt
OFFICEUNTITLED

# COMPETITION

Resilient Roots
HMC Architects

### EDUCATIONAL

Long Beach City College Stadium and Athletic Sports Complex *DLR Group* 

# HEALTHCARE/INSTITUTIONAL/CIVIC

Calexico Land Port of Entry Perkins&Will

Professional Women's Soccer Training Facility

AUX Architecture

### MULTI-UNIT RESIDENTIAL

Barrel Cactus ADU Michael Matthews Studio

# SINGLE-FAMILY RESIDENTIAL MU01

Arshia Architects

Santiago Adobe

Loescher Meachem Architects

# TEMPORARY HOUSING

The Lincoln Park Exchange Benjamin Sperry

# DESIGN AWARDS

# PRESENTERS

Alyce Wallace, Assoc. AIA Hansol Park, AIA, LEED AP

### JURY

Andrea Love, FAIA, LEED Fellow Patricia Oliver, FAIA John Sivills, Assoc. AIA

### AWARD RECIPIENTS

# ADAPTIVE RE-USE/ RENOVATION/ HISTORICAL PRESERVATION

Atwater Canyon
Formation Association

Sandi Simon Center for Dance at Chapman University Lorcan O'Herlihy Architects

## AFFORDABLE HOUSING

Corazon Del Valle *Perkins&Will* 

Rose Apartments
Brooks + Scarpa

# ARCHITECTURAL INSTALLATIONS

Moving Chains by artist Charles Gaines TOLO Architecture

### COMMERCIAL/MIXED-USE

9720 Wilshire Blvd *Montalba Architects* 

Broadway Cloverfield

Patrick TIGHE Architecture

### EDUCATIONAL

Kaiser Permanente Bernard J Tyson School of Medicine Yazdani Studio of CannonDesign

University of Melbourne Student Pavilion KoningEizenberg Architecture

Westmark School Lower School Campus *NBBJ* 

# HEALTHCARE/INSTITUTIONAL/CIVIC

Earvin "Magic" Johnson Park Event Center Paul Murdoch Architects

Kaiser Watts Learning and Health Pavilion Perkins&Will

Montage Health Ohana Campus NBBJ

Sixth Street Viaduct

Michael Maltzan Architecture, Inc.

Youth Sports Field House Brooks + Scarpa

# INTERIOR ARCHITECTURE

Astronaut Training Facility BA Collective

Uchi *ORA* 

# MULTI-FAMILY RESIDENTIAL

1550 Lincoln KFA Architecture

# SINGLE-FAMILY RESIDENTIAL

COTTAGE ARCHICRAFT

Ribera Road

Ehrlich Yanai Rhee Chaney Architects

Steeplechase

Brooks + Scarpa

# BOARD OF DIRECTORS HONOREES

### PRESENTERS

Monica Rodriguez, AIA - House & Robertson Architects Annette Wu, AIA - Principal, NAC

### HONOREES

GOLD MEDAL AWARD Debra Gerod, FAIA

25 YEAR AWARD The Getty Center

# BUILDING TEAM OF THE YEAR Resnick Sustainability Center at CalTech

Calvin Abe
Jason Atkisson
Mahabir Atwal
Leandra Davis
Ishwar Dhungaha
Saiful Islam
Eugene Kim
Andy Thul
Paul Winfield
Mehrdad Yazdani, Assoc. AIA

MERRY NORRIS AWARD FOR DESIGN ADVOCATE -BUILDER Hensel Phelps

MERRY NORRIS AWARD FOR DESIGN ADVOCATE-DEVELOPER Linear City Development

# EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR Amy Murphy

COMMUNITY CONTRIBUTION
Los Angeles Unified School District

HONORARY AIA | LA lvy Cook - FLL Consulting

HONORARY AIA | LA

Dr. Rueben Smith – LA Community

College District

THE ROBERT KENNARD,
FAIA AWARD FOR EQUITY,
DIVERSITY & INCLUSIVITY
Anderson Barker

CITIZEN ARCHITECT Brian Lane, FAIA

**EMERGING PRACTICE**Sharif, Lynch: Architecture

# AIA LOS ANGELES

AIA|LA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

# **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:**

PRESIDENT - AIA | LA Annette Wu, AIA

VICE PRESIDENT - AIA | LA Chava Danielson, AIA DSH // architecture

SECRETARY
Jennifer Schab, AIA
Bestor Architecture

NAC Architecture

# AIA|LA STAFF:

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Carlo Caccavale, Hon. AIA|LA

MEMBERSHIP DIRECTOR Steve Tanner, Hon. AIA|LA

DIRECTOR OF GOVERNMENT & PUBLIC AFFAIRS
Will Wright, Hon. AIA|LA

# TREASURER

Toni Lewis, AIA, LEED AP CASp lewis | schoeplein architects

PAST PRESIDENT
Leslie Sydnor, AIA, NOMA, LEED AP
Cumming Group

OFFICE MANAGER
Lori Diamond

EVENT & PROGRAM MANAGER
Marc Romeo

EVENTS COORDINATOR Erika Pendergraff

# AIA LOS ANGELES

# AIA|LA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

# **BOARD MEMBERS:**

**DIRECTOR**Nathan Bishop, AIA
KoningEizenberg

DIRECTOR
James (Jed) Donaldson, AIA
Johnson Fain

DIRECTOR
Ismar Enriquez, AIA, LFA, LEED AP
Practice

**DIRECTOR**David J. Frey, FAIA, LEED AP BD+C, DBIA
HOK

DIRECTOR

Carlos Augustus Garcia, AIA, NCARB, WELL AP

Brooks + Scarpa

DIRECTOR
Jennifer Noel Wong, AIA
EYRC Architects

DIRECTOR
James Woolum, FAIA
ZGF

ASSOC DIRECTOR
Morgan Sumner, Assoc. AIA
Bestor Architecture

EX OFFICIO ASSOC. DIRECTOR
Cynthia Sigler, AIA
HKS

ACADEMIA LIAISON EX OFFICIO Heather Barker, Assoc. AIA Cal State Long Beach

ACADEMIA LIAISON EX OFFICIO Doris Sung, AIA USC Architecture

PUBLIC MEMBER
Dr. Giovanna Brasfield
Brasfield & Associates LLC

PUBLIC MEMBER
Tara Barauskas, Affiliate AIA|LA
Community Corporation of Santa Monica

AIA CA REPRESENTATIVE John Arnold, AIA KFA

AIA CA REPRESENTATIVE
Julia Malloy Gallagher, AIA, NOMA, LEED AP
JMGA

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Carlo Caccavale, Hon. AIA|LA
AIA Los Angeles

# DESIGN AWARDS COMMITTEE

CHAIR
Alyce Wallace, Assoc. AIA
Lutron

VICE - CHAIR

Hansol Park, AIA, LEED AP

Yazdani Studio of Cannon Design

# **COMMITTEE MEMBERS:**

Alex Zapata, Cal Poly Pomona
Anthony Brower, FAIA, Populous
Graham Bremner, Assoc. AIA
Ismar Enriquez, AIA, Practice
Jim Quintana, Perera Inc.
Jovan Gayton, AIA, AC Martin
Keith Collins, HNTB
Kelly Nicholas, AIA, ZGF
Matthew Sullivan
Mila Sergeeva, HLW

PAST CO-CHAIR

Kristi Litton, Assoc. AIA

KPFF

PAST CO-CHAIR
Alek Zarifian, FAIA
Alek Zarifian Architects

Michael Folonis, FAIA, Michael W Folonis Architects

Miranda Gardiner, Assoc. AIA, Climate Accord

Richard Zapata, AIA, *DLR Group*Staci Nesbitt, AIA, *Practice*Thesla Collier, Intl. Assoc. AIA, *HNTB*Xinyu Yan, *Gensler*Yan Wijaya, Affiliate AIA|LA, *Lutron*Zhi Wei, AIA, *SOM* 

### THANK YOU TO THE VOLUNTEERS:

Karl Armamento, UCLA Extension
Jared Bergenstal, UCLA
Paula Castro, UCLA
Chase Hoerig, UCLA Extension
Tammy Hong, UCLA Extension
Cassie Johnson, UCLA Extension
Susie Kim
Umsha King, UCLA Extension
Dawn Knepley
Jen Kohan, UCLA
Alexis Markan, UCLA Extension
Alison Martin, AIA, CO Architects

Rachel Martinelli, AIA, Steinberg Hart
Allie Messenger, UCLA Extension
Paula Moss, Otis College of Art & Design
Justin Munder, CSU Long Beach
Kylie Robinson, UCLA Extension
A.Cristina S.Santos
Jenifer Santizo, UCLA Interior Design
Certificate Program
Derek Shea, UCLA Extension
Zhanna Yagafarova, UCLA Extension
Fan Zhao, UCLA Extension

# DESIGN AWARDS SPONSORS

Gold

Exhibition Sponsor

Cocktail Sponsor

Registration Sponsor



Photo Booth Sponsor



Autex Acoustics<sup>®</sup>

Silver







Bronze

















Motion Graphics and Animation by

> **SHIMAHARA** VISUAL

# 2024 ANNUAL SPONSORS

Decarbonization Sponsor Gold Sponsor



Silver Sponsor

KADREARCHITECTS

**CO ARCHITECTS** 

DESIGN HMC GOOD Architects

EHRLICH





Bronze Sponsor























Emerging Practice Sponsor Speedboat